Thursday, 24th April 2014 14:01:30


From a small town Kuala Lumpur has grown to become the nation’s Capital City and the biggest city in Malaysia. Kuala Lumpur City has become the centre for many socio-economic various activities including business, finance, administration, education, religion, culture and sports.

Since 1961, Kuala Lumpur has been governed by one single corporate entity that was then known as the office of the Federal Capital Commissioner. On the 1st February 1972, Kuala Lumpur was officially conferred the status of a city. With this, the Federal Capital Commissioner became the Mayor of KL.



Tan Sri Dato’ Lokman Yusof the former Federal Capital Commissioner was elected as the first Mayor of Kuala Lumpur. When he passed away on 15.5.1972, he was succeeded by Tan Sri Yaakob Latiff who served for a period of 10 years. The third Mayor of KL was Tan Sri Dato’ Elyas Omar who took office on 1.2.1981.

Kuala Lumpur 1926 Kuala Lumpur Now  

The fourth Mayor was Dato’ Dr Mazlan Ahmad whose appointment was on 17.11.1992. Tan Sri Dato’ Kamarruzaman Shariff then took over as the fifth Mayor and served between 14.12.1995 and 13.12.2001. He was then replaced by Y Bhg Kol. Datuk Hj Mohmad Shaid b Mohd Taufek whose appointment was on 14.12.2001. Then from 14.12.2004 until 13.12.2006 the post of the seventh Mayor was held by Y Bhg Dato’ Hj Ruslin bin Hj Hasan. The office of the eight Mayor was held by Y Bhg Dato’ Ab Hakim bin Borhan. He was then replaced by Y Bhg Tan Sri Ahmad Fuad bin Ismail whose appointment was on 14.12.2008.

The current and tenth Mayor of the city is Y Bhg Datuk Seri Hj. Ahmad Phesal bin Hj. Talib who has been in office since 18.7.2012.

DB_1 DB_2 DB_3
Kuala Lumpur's First Mayor Kuala Lumpur's Second Mayor Kuala Lumpur's Third Mayor Kuala Lumpur's Fourth Mayor Kuala Lumpur's Fifth Mayor
Tan Sri Dato' Lokman

Tan Sri Yaakob

Tan Sri Dato' Elyas
Dato' Dr. Mazlan
Tan Sri Dato’
Kamaruzzaman Shariff
DB_6 DB_7 DB_8 DB_9 DB_9
Kuala Lumpur's Sixth Mayor Kuala Lumpur's Seventh Mayor Kuala Lumpur's Eighth Mayor Kuala Lumpur's Ninth Mayor Kuala Lumpur's Tenth Mayor
Datuk Hj. Mohmad Shaid
b. Mohd Taufek
Dato' Hj. Ruslin bin Hj. Hasan Datuk Seri AB Hakim bin Borhan Tan Sri Ahmad Fuad bin Ismail Datuk Seri Hj.
Ahmad Phesal bin Hj. Talib