Tuesday, 4th August 2020 [ 2:03:19 PM ]
A- A A+

Default ThemeGreen ThemeRed ThemeYellow Theme


DBKL History

From a small town Kuala Lumpur has grown to become the nation’s Capital City and the biggest city in Malaysia. Kuala Lumpur City has become the centre for many socio-economic various activities including business, finance, administration, education, religion, culture and sports.


Since 1961, Kuala Lumpur has been governed by one single corporate entity that was then known as the office of the Federal Capital Commissioner. On the 1st February 1972, Kuala Lumpur was officially conferred the status of a city. With this, the Federal Capital Commissioner became the Mayor of KL.


Kuala Lumpur 1926 Kuala Lumpur Now   Tan Sri Dato’ Lokman Yusof the former Federal Capital Commissioner was elected as the first Mayor of Kuala Lumpur. When he passed away on 15.5.1972, he was succeeded by Tan Sri Yaakob Latiff who served for a period of 10 years. The third Mayor of KL was Tan Sri Dato’ Elyas Omar who took office on 1.2.1981.
Kuala Lumpur 1926 Kuala Lumpur Now


The fourth Mayor was Dato’ Dr Mazlan Ahmad whose appointment was on 17.11.1992. Tan Sri Dato’ Kamarruzaman Shariff then took over as the fifth Mayor and served between 14.12.1995 and 13.12.2001. He was then replaced by Kol. Datuk Hj Mohmad Shaid b Mohd Taufek whose appointment was on 14.12.2001. Then from 14.12.2004 until 13.12.2006 the post of the seventh Mayor was held by Dato’ Hj Ruslin bin Hj Hasan. The office of the eight Mayor was held by Dato’ Ab Hakim bin Borhan. He was then replaced by  Tan Sri Ahmad Fuad bin Ismail whose appointment was on 14.12.2008. Then from 18.7.2012 until 17.7.2015 the post of the tenth Mayor was held by Tan Sri Hj. Ahmad Phesal bin Hj. Talib. The eleventh Mayor of the city was Tan Sri Hj. Mhd. Amin Nordin bin Abd. Aziz who has been in office since 18.7.2015 until 30.9.2018.


The current and twelfth Mayor of the city is Dato' Nor Hisham Bin A Dahlan whose appointment was on 1.10.2018.